BCN Celebrates Its 37th Annual General Meeting
BCN Celebrates Its 37th Annual General Meeting
11 Jan 2020

Bird Conservation celebrated its 37th AGM successfully on 11 January 2020 at Hotel Moonlight, Paknajol, Kathmandu. The event was chaired by Rajendra Gurung, President BCN Executive Council Board and Gopal Prakash Bhattarai, DG, DNPWC graced the event as chief guest. Dr. Ghyan Shyam Gurung, Country Representative WWF Nepal, Shyam Sundar Bajimaya former DG, DNPWC, Dr. Anuja Raj Sharma, former DDG, FOSCD were the guest of the event attended by valuable Advisor, Patron Members, BCN's Executive Council Members. Life Members and General Members.

 Similarly, NBCN Grant Award worth Nrs. 1 Lakh was given to Environmental Sustainable Development and Research Centre, Dang and Himali Conservation Forum for significant contributions in conservation of bird and biodiversity in Dang Valley and Eastern Himalaya Area respectively. This year's Jatayu Research Scholarship worth Nrs. 30,000 was given to Pramisha Khanal and Sangita Bashyal to assist in research of critically endangered vultures. BCN also welcomed Prof. Dr. Rishi Bikram Shah, Pemba Sherpa, Lt. Col. Utsab Jung Thapa and Jyotendra Jyu Thakuri as new Patron Members at the event. Continuing the support initiated previous year, Chungba Sherpa, BCN Patron Member and Wildlife Photographer announced grant worth Nrs. 1 Lakh to support students’ research on certain threatened species.

The closed session began with presentation on BCN’s Annual Progress Report from Vimal Thapa, General Secretary, BCN Executive Council Board followed by BCN’s Annual Financial Report from Ashok Bahadur Malla, Treasurer, BCN Executive Council Board. The queries on various issues raised by members were addressed by Ishana Thapa, CEO BCN. The closing remarks were made by Rajendra Gurung where he also urged everyone to develop a sense of giving back to society and highlighted on importance of Individual Social Responsibility (ISR). He also announced his commitment to support Nrs. 50,000 annually for next 5 years.